DuBoistown Borough General Council Meeting

Agenda January 2, 2024

Call to order - 6PM

Pledge of Allegiance – Mayor Knecht

Invocation/Moment of Silence – Mayor Knecht

Roll Call - Kate Weaver

Mayor Knecht will administer Oath of Office to the Councilpersons elected

November 2023:

Dori A Rankinen 4 years 12/31/2027

Shawn W Millard 4 years 12/31/2027

Harry J Rogers 4 years 12/31/2027

Patrick M Melloy2 years 12/31/2025

Mayor Knecht now announces that Council is ready to organize for 2024 - 2025

The floor is open to nominations for President.

(No second is required for nominations. After all nominations are taken, votes will occur in the order the nomination was made, until a majority is reached.)

The floor is open to nominations for Vice-President.

(No second is required for nominations. After all nominations are taken, votes will occur in the order the nomination was made, until a majority is reached.)

Following the nomination and election of the President and Vice-President of Council, Mayor Knecht will turn the chair over to the newly elected President.)

Newly elected President of Council calls for approval for the following officers for 2024/2025:

These positions can be made with one motion for the below positions.

Motion to approve the following appointments:

Borough Manager (Ann Marie Baker)

Secretary/Treasurer/Right to Know Officer (Ann Marie Baker)

Assistant Treasurer (Kate Weaver)

Solicitor - Marc Drier Drier Law Firm

Engineer – Dave Hanes Livic Civil Engineering

Sewer Authority – (LCWSA)

Zoning/Code/Property Maintenance Enforcement Officer – Central Keystone Council of Governments

Emergency Management Coordinator – Jason Young

Fire Chief – Paul McKinley

Motion to declare tax collector position open for 2024 and 2025.

Motion to appoint Dottie White Mertz as tax collector for 2024 and 2025.

Motion to approve contract for Dottie White Mertz effective January 2, 2024

Consideration of motion ratifying the following dates and times as regular meetings of DuBoistown Borough Council for fiscal year 2024: Tuesday January 2, 2024, at 6:00 pm Reorganization; 1st Thursday of February through December at 6:00 pm: with the exception of July meeting being held on the 2nd Thursday at 6:00 pm.

Appoint Council Members to the following Committees: 3 members for each committee.

Finance

Personnel

Public Comment Period on Agenda Items #1 – Residents can comment on any of the items listed on this agenda. Please state your name & address for the record and try to limit your comments to 3 minutes.

Approval of previous meeting minutes

A **Motion** to approve the minutes from December 7, 2023

Reports -

Police Department – Chief Embeck

<u>Fire Department</u> – Chief McKinley

Mayor Knecht

Sewer Report – LCWSA Olivia Lopatofsky

Solicitor – Marc Drier

<u>Tax Collector</u> – Dottie Mertz

Borough Manager – Ann Marie Baker

Update on Meeting with South Williamsport School District

Assistant Treasurer – Kate Weaver

a) Expenditures Report

A **Motion** to accept the expenditures report.

President

New Business

Public Comment Period #2 Residents can comment on any topic discussed during this meeting. Please state your name & address for the record and try to limit your comments to 3 minutes.

Announcement -

Next Borough Council Meeting will be conducted on February 1st, 2024, at 6PM

Adjournment -

A **Motion** to adjourn the meeting.